nomadtronics.blogg.se

Vulkano player ios app setup
Vulkano player ios app setup




  1. #VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP UPDATE#
  2. #VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP UPGRADE#
  3. #VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP ANDROID#
  4. #VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP PC#
  5. #VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP TV#

Monsoon offers three versions of the Vulkano.

#VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP PC#

Whereas most set-top boxes we’ve seen (for instance, the early Slingbox Solo, the Roku players, and the Boxee Box ) are squarish or boxily rectangular, the Vulkano is a thin slab about the size of a PC keyboard. But it doesn’t always fulfill that promise to perfection.

#VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP TV#

The result is a box that promises to let you watch live high-definition TV and recorded shows on any screen (including your smartphone’s screen) wherever you are. Now, with its Vulkano Deluxe line, Monsoon adds time-shifting features (in other words, a DVR) to the mix. It’s not horrible, but it’s not as reliable as the guide on my TiVo, for sure.Monsoon Multimedia has been making place-shifting set-top boxes-devices that essentially let you watch your own TV remotely-for several years. Vuklano’s EPG a great feature, but it does suffer from one big bug: The information isn’t always 100% accurate. Virtual button lag is inevitable given the remote device-to-network-to-Flow box-to-IR blaster chain in the setup, so anything that eliminates remote button clicks means greater ease of use. The EPG also supports Favorite Channels, another timesaving shortcut.

vulkano player ios app setup

I think you get the idea: The system works but it’s pretty rough around the edges.įlow’s integrated Electronic Program Guide (EPG) is a nifty feature that cuts way down on the time it takes to switch to a particular show or change channels remotely rather than suffering through lag time while remotely navigating through your settop box’s menus and program guide on a click-by-click basis, you can use Vulkano Player’s local EPG on your device to browse and select content, and then send a single command across the network to your settop box. I was going to contact customer support again, but figured I needed to get this review done already. The OS X player generally connected just fine, but crashed relatively often. Manually tapping the cancel button and trying again would yield a quick connection every time. For whatever reason, more often than not when I fired up the iPhone player and hit “Live TV,” it would get stuck trying to connect to Flow. I did encounter lots of bugs in the OS X/iOS players, though.

#VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP ANDROID#

Oh, and I didn’t have a chance to try out either the Android or BlackBerry versions of Vulkano Player – photos below are screenshots from the app running on an iPhone 4.

#VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP UPGRADE#

Testing Flow out has made one thing clear to me: It’s time to upgrade the old 802.11g router at the heart of my home network. I actually preferred watching Flow content on iPhone over iPad, but maybe it’s because I always have my phone with me but rarely reach for a tablet quality was good on both devices, though your mileage will vary depending on the bitrate of the stream you’re watching.

vulkano player ios app setup vulkano player ios app setup

I never saw anything approaching an HD-quality stream from Flow, but quality over Wi-Fi was plenty good enough to enjoy, and 3G quality was at least passable so long as I had a solid cellular connection. For a sub-$100 box, Flow’s feature list is pretty impressive and video quality was definitely good, if never mind-blowing. That’s a good thing – I experienced both problems before getting on the phone with some company reps who walked me through re-installing the Player, and getting both Flow and my router configured to move video around.Īt any rate, once I had Flow up and running, I was able to control my TiVo via the Vulkano apps ( OS X, iPhone and iPad) and stream video out to them whether connected via local Wi-Fi or remote 3G/Wi-Fi.

#VULKANO PLAYER IOS APP SETUP UPDATE#

In that time, Monsoon has released an update to the Vulkano Player desktop client the Mac application is now at version 1.0.95, which the company says addresses issues relating to installation problems and general crashing, along with a new skin. Some technical hitches with getting the unit up and running, and then getting the Mac client to work properly, and then dealing with port forwarding on my router, resulted in the longer-than-usual loan/review period. Flow’s internal IR blaster had no issues sending signals to the TiVo box, which meant I didn’t have to fiddle with connecting and placing the included external IR unit. Flow lacks HDMI ports, so I used the component (RCA) ports to get audio and video flowing from TiVo’s outs to Flow’s ins the box also has composite inputs for standard-def video sources as well as both composite and component outputs to pass the signal back to your TV set or receiver.

vulkano player ios app setup

I’ve had a Flow hooked up in between my TiVo HD (with Comcast CableCard) and living room TV set – and hard-wired to my Linksys router’s Ethernet hub – for a little over a month now.






Vulkano player ios app setup